Bilingual life and more


new beginnings
April 22, 2007, 7:16 pm
Filed under: Blogroll, family, food, general

So, last week was hectic and busy and lots of fun and filled with many things worth blogging about and then it ended on this awesome note ….

Anna survived the CRCT – the standardized test in Georgia – on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. We, the parents brought in lots of good foods and incentives for afterwards – can you spell sweets? The good part was that she did not have any homework, so we could go to Lifetime Fitness, which we just joint. Swimming in the great inside pool with two big slides, a small slide and a mushroom and playing in the kids club was their special treat while I managed to get an awful bout of sore muscle. Oh boy, my first pilates class. I didn’t even know I had those muscles and they are sore. But I was smart and went back the next day to work out some more to releave some of the pain.

Pain + pain = not as much pain

So, Friday roles around and Emily has Art in the Park. Art in the ParkThere were about 15 tables set up in the parking lot with a craft project on each. I got to make harmonicas with 80 or so kids and get to see her run around making lots of crafts projects with her friend Jessie.Art in the Park, II We thought it would be nice and warm, instead it was cloudy and windy, in other words, cold. Most people came in Sandals and short sleeve without jackets. Thankfully, I had gotten a coffee at Panera just before and a jacket with me. Emily still tells me how much fun Art in the Park was.

Saturday was cool with birthday party, Girl Scout Browny meeting in the park and planting and playing in the afternoon. The weather is warmer, so I am out there planting, transplanting (they might like it better in another place) many plants and putting in new ones. We are getting there, but I am also expanding the garden. I now have my fun little herb garden in the back and a rock garden in the front. Michael picked up 2 big tons of pine cones and mowed the lawn. The kids used the chalk to beautify our whole driveway and Emily practiced with Michael to ride a big bike. She is almost there.

Oma had sent some cool pictures of the bikes that are waiting for them in Germany. Lilly flat out told me: “But mom, don’t you know I cannot ride a bike yet?” I just told her she had to learn it if she wanted to ride that one and go on bike rides with us. She apparently decided for it. I am glad. It will be fun!!!

Friday was also a day of new beginnings for me. I will be working part-time from home for Workplace Spanish. Things will change a bit around here, but I will be able to work most of it into when the kids are in school. It will most certainly make our lives more interesting – not that they are not interesting enough already.

I also can proudly say that we sent 90 boxes of Girls Scout Cookies to a neighbor who is stationed in Iraq on Saturday. We had collected them through family, friends and neighbors.

Today was “Barefoot in the Park” with the Grassos. There were dancers, music, arts and crafts and the ever important ice cream parlor.Anna with ice cream Emily with ice creamBarefoot in the Park IIt was the perfect weather with 78°F and we had a great time. Anna, Emily and Maya loved the crafts. Anything that has to do with drawing, glue, painting (extra messy!!!) ranks very high in their book. Demetrius probably mostly enjoyed sitting with the girls and having ice cream. It sure was cute!

So, tonight we stuffed all our stomachs with our very favorite Spinach Salad with pita bread. Anna, Emily and I were fighting over the last few pieces of walnuts (which I had substituted for the almonds) and cranberries over the bowl. Now, Michael is giving them a bath while I sit here and blog, clean up and start some bread in Big Red (also known as my bright red Kitchenaid).

Oh, the actual big thing at the end of the week?

Ok, one hint – it is April 22nd.

Ok, we are leaving for Germany in only ONE short month. Do you think we are excited? I think we are trying to prolong the excitement through all the hype beforehand. Time will probably fly once we are there, with all the things we already have lined up to do, friends and family we are going to visit and places to go to. So, I better get on buying the gifts and start the packing. Naaa, I already started!


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

OHHHH, wie sieht es bei Euch nach Sommer aus!!! Wie es scheint, nach einem sehr beschäftigten Sommer!!! Mit Eis-schleckenden-Kindern, Rad-Fahr-trainierender Emily, Zeit-zum-anwachsen für die Pflanzen, vom-Test-Ausruh-Zeit, und Vorfreude auf alles, was in Germany und nL auf euch wartet. – Habt Spaß!!

Comment by Mama, Oma

Are you excited? Hmmmmm I only heard about french fries in Holland for a good 5 minutes…that qualifies as excitement!

Comment by Jerry Grasso

I remember it also being a discussion about mayonnaise versus ketchup as dipping sauces for french fries 😉

Comment by bilingualandmore

There are KIBBELINGEN too!
Delicious pieces of fish after a long walk!!!
HMM

Comment by Mama, Oma

Hello

Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

Bye

Comment by tovorinok




Leave a comment